Titjikala wins Heritage and Culture at Australian Tidy Towns

Tidy Towns Logo

Friday 27 February 2015



Jeff Macleod, Douglas Wells, Guy Barnett MP, Dave McGregor, Heimo Schober, Alex Palmer, Greg Sharman, Ken Newman, Lisa Sharman, Darren Wilyuka, Graham Murnick.

The Northern Territory town of Titjikala has gone home with Heritage and Culture, deservedly won at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Awards 2015 held in Sheffield, Tasmania this evening. The overall 2015 Tidy Towns title went to Toodyay, Western Australia.

Australian Tidy Towns judge Jill Grant said, “the strong community pride and demonstration effort of the Work Crew combined with two consecutive NT Tidy Town wins has given Titjikala a strong incentive to do more and has also encouraged other communities in the McDonnell Regional Council to emulate their successes.”

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant and the Department for the Environment, the Australian Tidy Towns Program recognise the hard work undertaken by rural and regional community groups, schools, businesses, individuals and councils, showcasing innovative ideas and initiatives that improve sustainability in our regional areas.

By showing what is possible and achievable in a remote, arid community with limited financial resources, Titjikala are leading the way for others to apply some of the best practice in water management, environmental conservation and energy innovation.

Peter McLean, National Chief Executive Officer of Keep Australia Beautiful said “it’s pleasing to see another year of high calibre National finalists from every corner of our amazing country.”

“Each finalist exhibited significant outcomes in a range of sustainability projects and activities and this National program allows each of them to learn even more each so they can continue to thrive as a community and achieve success on their sustainability journeys.”

The two day awards event included highlights from National judge Jill Grant’s judging tour, finalist case studies, as well as opportunities which allowed representatives the chance to share information and network with like-minded professionals from around Australia.

Many delegates from all over the country, some who travelled up to 4,000km, took a tour Sheffield, which showcased some of the town’s excellent projects which contributed to their win last year.

2015 marks 47 years of the Tidy Towns Awards in Australia, with Keep Australia Beautiful receiving 1335 category submissions nationally, from over 347 applicants, across councils, shires, community groups, schools and individuals.

Tidy Towns awards can only be achieved where there is a good level of community participation and social capital. The grass roots programs offered by Keep Australia Beautiful provides opportunities for councils and their communities to showcase their achievements towards sustainability.

Keep Australia Beautiful Australian Tidy Towns Awards winners 2015

Award Winner
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention (sponsored by APC) Toodyay, WA
Resource Recovery  & Waste Management
(sponsored by APC)
Toodyay, WA
Environmental Protection and Innovation Toodyay, WA
Energy Innovation Beechworth, VIC
Heritage and Culture Titjikala, NT
Young Legends Cooktown, QLD
Community Action and Partnerships Meningie, SA
Water Conservation Meningie, SA
Overall Toodyay, WA

Highly Commended Awards

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Beechworth, VIC
Environmental Innovation and Protection Beechworth, VIC
Energy Innovation Cooktown, QLD
Heritage and Culture Gloucester, NSW
Environmental Innovation and Protection Westbury, TAS


Media Comment Peter McLean, CEO Keep Australia Beautiful National | Phone 0416 227 158 | Email peter@kab.org.au

Media Contact: Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful National | Phone 0416 768 387 | Email alice@kab.org.au

Judge Contact: Jill Grant | nationaljudge@kab.org.au |0411 652 895

Comments are closed.