2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Award winners announced (NSW)

Australian Sustainable Cities Awards logoMEDIA RELEASE
10.30PM AEST
Friday 13 November 2015

Canada Bay

Jane Milburn; Belinda Koytz; Tony Pavlovic. Photo by Leah Desborough.

Keep Australia Beautiful has announced the winners of the 2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Awards. The sustainability and litter fighting organisation sets out to encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia via these annual awards, sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant.

City of Canada Bay won the Community Action and Wellbeing Award, at the event hosted by last year’s title holder, Brisbane City Council on 13 November. Canada Bay was also highly commended for Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Waste Management & Resource Recovery.

Australian Sustainable Cities judge Sean Rooney said, “The Council’s strategic approach to environmental, social and economic sustainability is embedded in all aspects council activities spanning policies, planning, operations and performance reporting.”

Canada Bay were also recognised for their ‘Waste-less in the Bay’ education and behaviour change program – including a branded website, recycling videos, translation into multiple languages, education program for schools and 22 workshops conducted.

Philip Robinson, CEO of Keep Australia Beautiful said, “the Sustainable Cities program allows Australia to showcase the best of the best, and provides outstanding examples of how cities around the nation are implementing practical projects that help local communities achieve an efficient and sustainable future.”

David Carter, CEO of the Australian Packaging Covenant (APC) said “The Keep Australia Beautiful Sustainable Cities program provides an important platform for councils and communities to share their achievements in litter prevention and environmental sustainability.”

“The APC is pleased to be a key supporter of the nation-wide KAB Sustainable Cities program as it gives us an opportunity to engage with local governments. We congratulate all Councils that nominated and the 2015 award winners.”

Included in the proceedings was an inspiring speech from Jane Milburn of Textile Beat, promoting conscious dressers seeking to know more about the substance, not just the style of clothing they wear.

The prestigious 2015 overall win went to Frankston City Council, in Victoria. Across all categories Frankston City Council demonstrated significant action and achievement, resulting in tangible social, economic and environmental benefits for communities across the local government area.

The full Australian Sustainable Cities judge report can be found on the Keep Australia Beautiful website kab.org.au

2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Awards – Results Table

Category Winner Highly Commended
Community Action and Wellbeing City of Canada Bay, NSW Frankston City Council, VIC
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Waste Management & Resource Recovery Brisbane City Council, QLD (sponsored by Australian Packaging Covenant)

Frankston City Council, VIC


City of Canada Bay, NSW (sponsored by Australian Packaging Covenant)

Environmental Sustainability Frankston City Council, VIC

Glenorchy City Council, TAS


City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA

Heritage and Culture City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA Glenorchy City Council, TAS
Young Legends Glenorchy City Council, TAS



Environmental Education Canberra Ornithologists Group, ACT



Overall winner Frankston City Council, VIC  

– ENDS –

Judge Contact:

Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 | seanrooney@capitalexecutives.com.au

Finalist Contact:

Julia Angove | Manager Communications and Public Relations | 9911 6562 | julia.angove@canadabay.nsw.gov.au

Media Comment:

Phil Robinson | CEO Keep Australia Beautiful | 0413 354 680 | ceo@kab.org.au

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan | Communications Manager | Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 | alice@kab.org.au

Comments are closed.