2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Award winners announced (WA)

Australian Sustainable Cities Awards logoMEDIA RELEASE
10.30PM AEST
Friday 13 November 2015

Kal 2

Val Southam; Kim Eckert; Ryan Wilson. Photo by Leah Desborough.

Keep Australia Beautiful has announced the winners of the 2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Awards. The sustainability and litter fighting organisation sets out to encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia via these annual awards, sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant.

City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder won the Heritage and Culture Award, at the event hosted by last year’s title holder, Brisbane City Council on 13 November. Kalgoorlie was also highly commended for Environmental Sustainability.

Australian Sustainable Cities judge Sean Rooney said, “City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder has a rich heritage, both pre and post European settlement, that is conserved, celebrated and shared.”

This included the World’s Tallest Bin whereby a piece of the iconic C.Y. O’Connor pipeline which carries water 600km from Perth to Kalgoorlie was turned into ‘the world’s tallest bin’ in 1980 by the Keep Kalgoorlie Kleen Kommittee as part of the town’s Tidy Towns submission of that year. This bin still stands today and is a testament of Kalgoorlie-Boulder’s long running involvement in the Tidy Towns competition.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder is also recognised for their Urban Landcare Group – a pro-active, energetic, action oriented, volunteer based group responsible for community level bush regeneration and environmental education activities, working over 6 sites across 3,500 hectares.

The city also irrigates over 70% of the city’s parklands by storm water re-use and/or treated effluent treated effluent.

Philip Robinson, CEO of Keep Australia Beautiful said, “the Sustainable Cities program allows Australia to showcase the best of the best, and provides outstanding examples of how cities around the nation are implementing practical projects that help local communities achieve an efficient and sustainable future.”

Included in the proceedings was an inspiring speech from Jane Milburn of Textile Beat, promoting conscious dressers seeking to know more about the substance, not just the style of clothing they wear.

The prestigious 2015 overall win went to Frankston City Council, in Victoria. Across all categories Frankston City Council demonstrated significant action and achievement, resulting in tangible social, economic and environmental benefits for communities across the local government area.

The full Australian Sustainable Cities judge report can be found on the Keep Australia Beautiful website kab.org.au

2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Awards – Results Table

Category Winner Highly Commended
Community Action and Wellbeing City of Canada Bay, NSW Frankston City Council, VIC
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Waste Management & Resource Recovery Brisbane City Council, QLD (sponsored by Australian Packaging Covenant)

Frankston City Council, VIC


City of Canada Bay, NSW (sponsored by Australian Packaging Covenant)

Environmental Sustainability Frankston City Council, VIC

Glenorchy City Council, TAS


City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA

Heritage and Culture City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, WA Glenorchy City Council, TAS
Young Legends Glenorchy City Council, TAS



Environmental Education Canberra Ornithologists Group, ACT



Overall winner Frankston City Council, VIC  

– ENDS –

Judge Contact:

Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 | seanrooney@capitalexecutives.com.au

Finalist Contact:

Maureen Keegan, PR Coordinator, City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder | (08) 9021 9651 | 0408 921 269 | Maureen.Keegan@ckb.wa.gov.au

Media Comment:

Phil Robinson | CEO Keep Australia Beautiful | 0413 354 680 | ceo@kab.org.au

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan | Communications Manager | Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 | alice@kab.org.au

Comments are closed.