Australian Sustainable Cities Honour Roll


Australian Sustainable Cities title holders


Australian Winner

Location of National Awards Presentation

2007 Melton Shire, VIC Canberra, ACT
2008 City of Frankston, VIC Sydney Olympic Park, NSW
2009 City of Canada Bay, NSW Parliament House, Canberra ACT
2010 City of Stirling, WA City of Canada Bay, NSW
2011 City of Kogarah, NSW City of Stirling, WA
2012 City of Cockburn, WA City of Kogarah, NSW
2013 City of Marion, SA  City of Cockburn, WA
2014 Brisbane City Council, QLD City of Marion, SA
2015 Frankston City Council, VIC Brisbane City, QLD
2016 Brisbane City Council, QLD Frankston City, VIC

New South Wales finalists

1994 Wollongong City Council  2006 Hornsby Shire Council
1995 Newcastle City Council 2007 Randwick City Council
1996 Warringah Council 2008 City of Sydney
1997 Newcastle City Council 2009 City of Canada Bay (Australian Winner)
1998 Parramatta City Council 2010 Hornsby Shire Council
1999 Lane Cove Council 2011 Kogarah City Council (Australian Winner)
2000 Sutherland Shire Council 2012 Penrith City Council
2001 Newcastle City Council 2013 City of Canada Bay
2002 Manly Council 2014 Manly Council
2003 Kogarah Council and Canal Reserve Action Group 2015 City of Canada Bay
2004 Blue Mountains City Council 2016 Randwick City Council
2005 North Sydney Council

Victorian finalists

1992 Prahran City Council 2005 City of Casey
1993 Berwick City Council 2006 City of Hume
1994 Frankston City Council 2007 Shire of Melton (Australian Winner)
1995 Maroondah City Council 2008 City of Frankston (Australian Winner)
1996 Hobsons Bay City Council 2009 Hobsons Bay City Council
1997 Kingston City Council 2010 Melton Shire Council
1998 Monash City Council 2011 Yarra City Council
99/2000 Whitlesea City Council 2012 City of Boroondara
2001 Hobsons Bay City Council 2013 City of Moreland
2002 Banyule City Council 2014 Brimbank City Council
2003 Hume City Council  2015 Frankston City Council (Australian Winner)
2004 Maroondah City Council  2016 City of Yarra


Queensland Finalists

2007 Brisbane City Council 2012 Redland City Council
2008 Magnetic Island Solar Suburb 2013 Brisbane City Council
2009 Ipswich City Council 2014 Brisbane City Council  (Australian Winner)
2010 Redland City Council  2015 Brisbane City Council
2011 Ipswich City Council 2016 Brisbane City Council  (Australian Winner)

Western Australian Finalists

2003 Northeast Catchment Committee 2010 City of Stirling (Australian Winner)
2004 Pot Recyclers 2011 City of Subiaco
2005 Custom Composts 2012 City of Cockburn (Australian Winner)
2006 National Lifestyle Villages for BridgewaterVillage, City of Mandurah 2013 City of Swan
2007 National Lifestyle Villages for BridgewaterVillage, City of Mandurah 2014 City of Bunbury
2008 City of Gosnells 2015 City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
 2009 Brunswick River Restoration Action Group (BRRAG), Shire of Harvey 2016 Albany

 South Australian finalists

2007 Port Augusta 2012 City of Tea Tree Gully
2008 City of Salisbury 2013 City of Marion
2009 City of Port Adelaide 2014 City of Holdfast Bay
2010 City of Onkaparinga  2015 No participation
2011 Charles Sturt Council  2016 No participation

Tasmanian Finalists 

2000 Burnie City Council 2009 Launceston City Council
2001 – 2010 City of Clarence
2002 Launceston City Council 2011 Burnie City Council
2003 Launceston City Council 2012 Devonport
2004 Launceston City Council 2013 Launceston
2005 Burnie City Council 2014 Glenorchy City Council
2006/7 Burnie City Council 2015 Launceston
2008 Devonport 2016 Glenorchy City Council

Australian Capital Territory finalists

2006 ANU Sliver Cells 2011 Sustainable Skills Training Hub, Canberra Institute of Technology 2016 Soft Landing Mattress Recycling
2007 Australian Ethical Investments for Trevor Pearcey House 2012 Merici College Kitchen Garden Program
2008 TravelSmart Belconnen by Territory and Municipal Services 2013 Canberra Indian Myna Action Group
2009 Oz Harvest Canberra, part of Communities@Work 2014 Canberra Urban Honey
2010 AuSSI Sustainable Schools Initiative ACT, DECCEW 2015 Canberra Ornithologists Group

Northern Territory finalists

2008 Alice Solar City 2012 City of Palmerston 2016 No participation
2009 Palmerston City Council 2013 Not participating
2010 Darwin City Council 2014 City of Palmerston
2011 No participation 2015 No participation


Comments are closed.