Canberra birdlife being judged for national Sustainable Cities award


Australian Sustainable Cities Awards logoMEDIA RELEASE
Monday 19 October 2015



Photo opportunity

What: Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Cities judging 2015
When: Wednesday 21 October 2015
Media Call:
Where: Jerrabomberra Wetlands, Fyshwick – boardwalk
Who: Sean Rooney, Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Cities judge; representatives from Canberra Ornithological Group

Canberra Ornithological Group

Canberra Ornithological Group are representing the ACT in the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Cities awards 2015.

National Sustainable Cities judge, Sean Rooney, will be visiting Canberra in early October, and the award ceremony will be held in the City of Brisbane on 13 November 2015.

Mr Rooney said, “to be recognised on a national stage is quite the achievement for Canberra Ornithological Group. I can’t wait to see their winning projects first hand.”

Canberra Ornithological Group (COG) works in active partnerships with the ANU, the Woodlands and Wetlands Trust, the ACT Conservation Council and the Canberra Indian Myna Action Group (CIMAG) in both citizen science projects, and to provide conservation advice and input to the ACT Government on development proposals that may impact on the birds of Canberra and the Canberra region.

Mr Rooney will be compiling judging scores with a field trip to the Jerrabomberra Wetlands included in the day’s activities, and COG’s work at Mulligan’s Flat, as one part of its broader conservation work.

Mr Rooney will also learn about the Gang-Gang bird of the year project – inaugurated as part of COG’s 50th anniversary celebration. This was a citizen science project that was designed to engage the community in recording information about Gang-gangs in the ACT and Canberra region.

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia, and have been running since 2007.

In addition to the overall winner, the national program contains the category awards, each of which is scored through the national judging process:

  • Community Action and Wellbeing
  • Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Award, Waste Management & Resource Recovery
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Heritage and Culture
  • Young Legends
  • Environmental Education

National Sustainable Cities finalists already announced include:

  • City of Canada Bay, New South Wales
  • Glenorchy City Council, Tasmania
  • Frankston City Council, Victoria
  • City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia
  • Queensland (TBA)

– ENDS –

Editors notes:

 Judge Contact:

Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 |

Finalist Contact:

Alan Thomas COG Secretary | 0400 433 422 |

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 |


Comments are closed.