Canberra Indian Myna Action Group wins at ACT Sustainable Cities Awards 2013

ACT Sustainable Cities Logo

11.30am Friday 5 July 2013
Media Contact Alice Morgan
Phone 0416 768 387


More photos below

Canberra Indian Myna Action Group wins ACT Sustainable Cities Awards 2013

Peter McLean, National Executive Officer Keep Australia Beautiful and Ross Dalton, CIMAG.

The Canberra Indian Myna Action Group has won the Keep Australia Beautiful ACT Sustainable Cities Awards for 2013 for their trapping program. An initiative of Keep Australia Beautiful ACT, the awards are open to community, business and all levels of government in the ACT and celebrate achievement in litter reduction and the broader sustainability agenda including water and energy conservation. The awards were announced at an event held at the ACT Legislative Assembly, Canberra earlier today.

As well as winning the overall award, the Canberra Indian Myna Action Group also took home the Community Action, Partnerships and Culture category award, and the Environmental Stewardship category award. Over the last 7 years, because of the trapping program, mynas have been reduced from the 3rd most abundant bird to the 20th. The difference in Canberra and other places where trapping programs are underway has been profound. This reduces the nuisance of mynas, as they take over nesting hollows from native birds, possums and gliders after harassing and evicting them. They kill the chicks of other birds or destroy their eggs, and build their nests on top, and also prey on endangered insects and small skinks.

“The Canberra Indian Myna Action Group outcomes are outstanding, and each of our finalists this year provide excellent examples of how the nation’s capital are implementing practical projects that help local communities achieve a positive and sustainable future,” said Peter McLean, National Executive Officer for Keep Australia Beautiful.

“Each finalist has demonstrated significant outcomes in a range of sustainability projects and activities and the territory program allows each of them to learn even more from leading projects within the capital,” said Chair of ACT Committee, Rolfe Hartley.

Other winners of category awards included:

Winner Commendation
Community Action, Partnerships and Culture Canberra Indian Myna Action Group ANUGreen Precincts Project
Environmental Stewardship Canberra Indian Myna Action Group The Friends of Aranda Bushland
Resource Recovery and Litter Prevention ACTSmart Business and Office Program – Cleaner’s Initiative Hawker Primary School P&C Fete
Environmental Advocacy and Innovation 2020 Vision: Imagining a Sustainable Canberra
Sustainable Buildings – Commercial Australian National University Lena Karmel Lodge
Sustainable Buildings – Residential MAG Construction + DNA Architects +Industrious Designs “Girasole”
Young Legends No Winner Actew Water Giving to Our Source of Living
Wildcard Digital Sustainability Outreach at Australian National University
Overall Canberra Indian Myna Action Group

Guest of honour Dr Chris Bourke MLA addressed the audience at the awards this morning, before the formal presentation of the overall winner. Dorte Ekelund, Director General Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate also spoke at the event.

This year’s ACT winner will go up against state and territory finalists from across the nation in the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards to be held in November. The 2013 awards are supported by Program Sponsor The Packaging Stewardship Forum of the Australian Food and Grocery Council, and Event Sponsor ANUgreen.

ACT SC Overall

Ross Dalton, CIMAG

ACT SC Overall

Chair of ACT Committee, Rolfe Hartley; Ross Dalton, CIMAG; and Dr Chris Bourke MLA.

– ENDS –


For further media comment please contact Peter McLean on mobile 0416 227 158.

The ACT Sustainable Cities Awards Program has been operating since 2006.

Information on each of the winners is available on the website:

Keep Australia Beautiful is the national peak body on litter prevention. Our mission is to ‘to lead, challenge and inspire all Australians to strive for a sustainable and litter free environment.’ With over four decades of experience in engaging Australians to care for their local environments, (not to be confused with the organisation Clean Up Australia Day) KAB Programs include Sustainable Cities, Tidy Towns, Clean Beaches, National Litter Index, The LITTLE Committee, National Bin Network and Keep Australia Beautiful Week in August.

The KAB National website is where all information on the organisation can be accessed including the National Litter Index which is Australia’s only independent nation-wide litter research.

The ACT Sustainable Cities Awards are sponsored by:

The Packaging Stewardship Forum of the Australian Food and Grocery Council, works with partners across the nation to deliver industry recycling, litter reduction and education programs on behalf of its members, Australia’s major beverage companies and their packaging suppliers. The Forum’s highly successful Do the Right Thing anti-litter campaign is recognised by more than 80% of people.

Event sponsor, ANUgreen is the Australian National University’s award-winning environmental management program, managed by the ANU Facilities and Services Division. Established in 1999 under the ANU environment policy, ANUgreen is responsible for implementing the University’s Environmental Management Plan by working directly with the University community, educating and empowering staff and students to playing an active role in reducing the collective environmental impact.

PSF LogoANUgreen logo 2011


Comments are closed.