Canberra Ornithological Group bid for Australian Sustainable Cities title


Australian Sustainable Cities Awards logoMEDIA RELEASE
Friday 23 October 2015



Canberra Ornithological Group (COG) was visited by the national Keep Australia Beautiful, Sustainable Cities judge Sean Rooney earlier this week with the hope of being named Australia’s sustainable city.

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia, and have been running since 2007.

Mr Rooney said, “It is always an honour and pleasure to be able to recognise and promote the work that many dedicated individuals and communities are undertaking to continuously improve social and environment development within their own cities.”

Mr Rooney compiled judging scores with a field trip to the Jerrabomberra Wetlands included in the day’s activities, and COG’s work at Mulligan’s Flat, as one part of its broader conservation work.

Mr Rooney also learnt about the Gang-Gang bird of the year project – inaugurated as part of COG’s 50th anniversary celebration. This was a citizen science project that was designed to engage the community in recording information about Gang-gangs in the ACT and Canberra region.

Keep Australia Beautiful National Chief Executive Officer Philip Robinson said the judging process is a lot more than just a day in the city.

“It gives Keep Australia Beautiful the opportunity to assess on ground, but equally important it allows our experts to give feedback to participants, and share that best practice information with others.”

As the territory overall winner in the ACT Sustainable Cities Awards, COG will now vie for the national title against five other finalists:

  • Glenorchy City Council, Tasmania
  • Frankston City Council, Victoria
  • Brisbane City Council, Queensland
  • City of Canada Bay, New South Wales
  • City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Western Australia.

The national Sustainable Cities judging takes place all this month, to then decide on the overall Australian winner. The existing Australian Sustainable Cities title is held by Brisbane City Council in Queensland, and will be passed onto the new 2015 winner at the awards event to be held there on 13 November.

– ENDS –

Editors notes:

 For more information visit:

Judge Contact:

Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 |

Finalist Contact:

Alan Thomas COG Secretary | 0400 433 422 |

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 |

Comments are closed.