Finalists have been announced for the ACT Sustainable Communities Awards

ACT-Sustainable-Communities-logoMEDIA RELEASE
Monday 15 August 2016




The finalists have been announced for the Keep Australia Beautiful ACT Sustainable Communities Awards 2016.

Residents, community based organisations, schools, businesses and local government agencies achieving sustainability across the territory will come together to share their achievements at an awards ceremony to be held next month.

Programs Manager Jen Bryant from Keep Australia Beautiful ACT welcomed the new participants to the awards program, that is now in its eleventh year.

“It’s great to see the awards have attracted new groups and projects,” Ms. Bryant said.

“Each finalist has demonstrated significant outcomes across a range of environmental and community-building initiatives. The awards program will bring people together to share knowledge and to learn from their peers.” said Ms. Bryant.

Taking place on 8 September at the National Arboretum, the awards event will be celebrating the following shortlisted projects.

The overall territory winner will then go on to represent the ACT in the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Communities Awards in November.

2016 ACT Sustainable Community of the Year

  • Hand-in-Hand Outreach Program
  • Soft Landing Mattress Recycling
  • STEP
  • GrowSPACE
  • Light House Architecture and Science

Dame Phyllis Frost Award for Resource Recovery, Waste Management and Litter Prevention

  • Soft Landing Mattress Recycling
  • 360 Fashion Market

Environmental Sustainability

  • 360 Fashion Market
  • Lighthouse Architecture and Science
  • STEP (Southern Tablelands Ecosystem Park)
  • Brema Group
  • Climathon Canberra

Environmental Education

  • STEP

Young Legends

  • Jacob Keed
  • SAM (Merici College)
  • Maribyrnong Primary School

Community Action and Wellbeing

  • Radford College
  • GrowSPACE
  • Hand-in-Hand Outreach Program
  • STEP
  • Transition Streets Canberra

Heritage and Culture

  • Larry Brandy

Individual ACTion

  • Dr David Shorthouse
  • Jeanette Purkis

The Individual ACTion Award is being offered for the first time in 2016, to celebrate and acknowledge an individual who demonstrates significant commitment to the environment or contribution to their community.

The Keep Australia Beautiful ACT Sustainable Communities Awards are an initiative of Keep Australia Beautiful National Association, sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant and the department of the Environment and Sustainable Development of the ACT.


Media Comment: Jen Bryant, Programs Manager 0402 072 991

Media Contact: Alice Morgan, Communications Manager 0416 768 387

About Keep Australia Beautiful

Keep Australia Beautiful is a national organisation that is recognised as Australia’s independent litter prevention thought and practice leader, for a litter free and sustainable Australia. It consists of an independent federation network in each state and territory.

With more than 45 years of experience in engaging Australians to care for their local environments, (not to be confused with Clean Up Australia) KAB programs include Tidy Towns, Clean Beaches, Sustainable Cities, National Litter Index, Beverage Container Recycling Grants, Eco-Schools, Adopt a Patch, and Keep Australia Beautiful Week in August.

The network of Keep Australia Beautiful National Association includes Keep Australia Beautiful ACT; Keep NSW Beautiful; Keep Victoria Beautiful; Keep Australia Beautiful WA; KESAB environmental solutions in SA; Keep Australia Beautiful TAS and Keep Australia Beautiful NT.

Comments are closed.