National sustainable judge on his way to Canada Bay

Australian Sustainable Cities Awards logo

Tuesday 29 September 2015




What: Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Cities judging 2015
Media call: 2pm
Where: Water Plant and Our Living Water. Cintra Hockey Complex off Gipps Street (nearest cross street is Taylor Street)
Who: Mayor Angelo Tsirekas,  Sean Rooney, KAB Sustainable Cities judge; Jennifer Bryant, KAB Programs Coordinator; representatives from Canada Bay, including Petrina Nelson Civil & Environmental Engineer.

City of Canada Bay is representing New South Wales in the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Cities awards 2015.

National Sustainable Cities judge, Sean Rooney, will be visiting Canada Bay on 30 September and the award ceremony will be held in the City of Brisbane on 13 November 2015.

Mr Rooney said, “to be recognised on a national stage is quite the achievement for Canada Bay. I can’t wait to see their winning projects first hand.”

Mr Rooney will be compiling judging scores while learning about the Greenhouse Action Plan, Climate Change, Sustainable Transport, WasteLess in the Bay and resource recovery, litter, active learning at the library, and youth led initiatives. He will visit and see firsthand the water plant and Our Living River, Bushcare, Pulpmaster, and the Bin your Butts walkthrough.

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia, and have been running since 2007.

In addition to the overall winner, the national program contains the category awards, each of which is scored through the national judging process:

  • Community Action and Wellbeing
  • Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Award, Waste Management & Resource Recovery
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Heritage and Culture
  • Young Legends
  • Environmental Education

Australian Sustainable Cities finalists already announced include:

  • Canberra Ornithological Group, Australian Capital Territory
  • City of Glenorchy, Tasmania
  • Frankston City Council, Victoria
  • City of Kalgoorlie Boulder, Western Australia
  • Queensland (TBA)

– ENDS –

Editors notes:

For more information visit:

Judge Contact:

Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 |

Finalist Contact:

Julia Angove, Manager Communications and Public Relations | 9911 6562 |

National Media Comment:

Robert Thomas, Chair, Keep Australia Beautiful | 0448 530 288 |

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | | 02 8626 9396 |

Comments are closed.