Orange being judged for national Tidy Towns award


17 December 2015




WHAT: Keep Australia Beautiful, 2016 Australian Tidy Towns judging
DATE: Tuesday 22 December 2015
WHERE: Emmaville Cottage – Banjo Patterson birthplace (Orange Botanic Gardens precinct)
WHO: Jill Grant, Australian Tidy Towns judge, representatives from Horsham Heritage and Culture, Rotary Club members

The town of Orange 254 km west of Sydney, is the Keep NSW Beautiful, Blue Star Overall Regional Sustainability Award winner, and will now go on to represent their state in the Keep Australia Beautiful, 2016 Australian Tidy Towns awards.

Australian Tidy Towns judge Jill Grant will be visiting Orange on Tuesday 22 December to compare with six other finalists from all over the country.

Ms Grant said, “to be recognised on a national stage is quite the achievement for Orange. I can’t wait to see their winning projects first hand.”

When there, Ms Grant will be compiling judging scores while learning about the following initiatives, among many others:

  • Hinton Reserve, Nesting Box Inspection (Environmental Sustainability and Education).
  • Suma Park Dam Upgrade, Pipeline, Storm Water Harvesting (Environmental Sustainability).
  • Ploughman’s Wetlands and Wentworth Golf Club Solar Car Park (Environmental Sustainability and Community Wellbeing).
  • Wayfinders, Orange Base Hospital and Adventure Playground (Community Wellbeing).
  • Rural Fire Services Compound, Aboriginal Scar Tree; Wentworth Mine Site; and Emmaville Cottage (Heritage and Culture).
  • Resource Recovery Centre (Waste Management).

In addition to the overall winner, the Australian program contains category awards, each of which is scored through the national judging process:

  • Community Action and Wellbeing
  • Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Award, Waste Management & Resource Recovery
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Heritage and Culture
  • Young Legends
  • Environmental Education.

Australian Tidy Towns finalists include:

  • Roma, state winner from Keep Queensland Beautiful
  • Horsham, state winner from Keep Victoria Beautiful
  • Mundulla, state winner from KESAB environmental solutions in SA
  • Triabunna, state winner from Keep Australia Beautiful TAS
  • Albany, state winner from Keep Australia Beautiful WA
  • Mt Liebig, territory winner from Keep Australia Beautiful NT.

The overall winner will be announced at an award ceremony to be hosted by the current title holder Toodyay in Western Australia on 17 and 18 March 2016.

Sponsored by The Australian Packaging Covenant and the Department for the Environment the Australian Tidy Towns awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the achievements of rural and regional communities across Australia.

– ENDS –

Editors notes:


Keep Australia Beautiful consists of an independent federation network in each state and territory. It is a national organisation that is recognised as Australia’s independent litter prevention thought and practice leader, for a litter free and sustainable Australia.

With more than 45 years of experience in engaging Australians to care for their local environments, (not to be confused with Clean Up Australia) KAB programs include Tidy Towns, Clean Beaches, Sustainable Cities, National Litter Index, Beverage Container Recycling Grants, Eco-Schools, Adopt a Patch, and Keep Australia Beautiful Week in August.

The network includes Keep Australia Beautiful National Association; Keep Australia Beautiful ACT; Keep NSW Beautiful; Keep Victoria Beautiful; Keep Queensland Beautiful; Keep Australia Beautiful WA; KESAB environmental solutions in SA; Keep Australia Beautiful TAS and Keep Australia Beautiful NT.


Judge Contact:

Jill Grant | 0411 652 895 |

Finalist Contact:

Roger Smith, Tidy Towns Coordinator | 0419 011 002 |

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | 0416 768 387 |

Comments are closed.