Orange National Finalist awaits Tidy Towns judging


Wednesday 9 December 2015



WHAT: Keep Australia Beautiful, 2016 Australian Tidy Towns judging
DATE: Tuesday 22 December 2015
WHERE: Emmaville Cottage – Banjo Patterson birthplace (Orange Botanic Gardens precinct)
WHO: Jill Grant, Australian Tidy Towns judge, representatives from Horsham Heritage and Culture, Rotary Club members

The town of Orange 254 km west of Sydney, is the Keep NSW Beautiful, Blue Star Overall Regional Sustainability Award winner, and will now go on to represent their state in the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns awards.

Orange will be visited by the Australian Tidy Towns judge Jill Grant on 22 December to compare with six other finalists from all over the country.

Ms Grant said, “to be recognised on a national stage is quite the achievement for Orange. I can’t wait to see their winning projects first hand.”

When there, Ms Grant will be compiling judging scores while learning about the following initiatives, among many others:

  • Hinton Reserve, Nesting Box Inspection (Environmental Sustainability and Education).
  • Suma Park Dam Upgrade, Pipeline, Storm Water Harvesting (Environmental Sustainability).
  • Ploughman’s Wetlands and Wentworth Golf Club Solar Car Park (Environmental Sustainability and Community Wellbeing).
  • Wayfinders, Orange Base Hospital and Adventure Playground (Community Wellbeing).
  • Rural Fire Services Compound, Aboriginal Scar Tree; Wentworth Mine Site; and Emmaville Cottage (Heritage and Culture).
  • Resource Recovery Centre (Waste Management).

Sponsored by The Australian Packaging Covenant and the Department for the Environment the Australian Tidy Towns awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the achievements of rural and regional communities across Australia.

Australian Tidy Towns finalists include:

  • Roma, state winner from Keep Queensland Beautiful
  • Horsham, state winner from Keep Victoria Beautiful
  • Mundulla, state winner from KESAB environmental solutions in SA
  • Triabunna, state winner from Keep Australia Beautiful TAS
  • Albany, state winner from Keep Australia Beautiful WA
  • Mt Liebig, territory winner from Keep Australia Beautiful NT.

The Australian Tidy Towns awards will be held on 17 and 18 March, hosted by last year’s winner Toodyay in Western Australia.

– ENDS –

Judge Contact:

Jill Grant | 0411 652 895 |

Finalist Contact:

Roger Smith, Tidy Towns Coordinator | 0419 011 002 |

National Media Contact:

Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 |

Comments are closed.