Tidy Toodyay takes home Australian Tidy Towns overall title

Tidy Towns Logo

Friday 27 February 2015


Toodyay Overall

L- R Back Row: Mel Hay, Chair KABCWA; David Dow, Toodyay Shire President; Judy Dow, Shire of Toodyay; Beth Frayne, Toodyay Historical Society; Greg Warburton, Tidy Towns Committee; Vicki Warburton; Rhoma Heath, Tidy Towns Committee; Kaye Rewell, Toodyay Bowling Club; Audrey Bell, Shire of Toodyay; Gail Dodd, KABCWA. L-R Front Row: Hannah Morrison, Toodyay District High School; Shelley Kingston, Toodyay & Districts Community Bank; Bob Frayne Tidy Towns Committee.

Toodyay in Western Australia has tonight won the iconic Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns award for 2015. The announcement was made at the national awards ceremony hosted by the 2014 overall winner, Sheffield in Tasmania. The last time WA took home the title was in 2006.

With a troupe of 14 representatives, and having travelled 4,000km to attend the awards, everyone from Toodyay Friends of the River, the Historical Society, Bowling Club, Toodyay & Districts Community Bank, Garden Club, Naturalists’ Club, District High School, Keep Australia Beautiful Council WA, as well as the Shire of Toodyay, were all there to claim their well-deserved win for their community participation and grass roots efforts that they more than showcased this evening, and during the judging process.

Toodyay also won Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention, Resource Recovery & Waste Management, and Environmental Protection and Innovation.

National Tidy Towns judge Jill Grant said, “The town has a strong emphasis on healthy lifestyles with bike friendly and other sustainable transport options such as the daily train services to Perth, solar street lights, energy savings devices and retrofits in buildings.”

Toodyay, population of 1,069, located on the Avon River in the Wheatbelt region of Western Australia, 85 kilometres north-east of Perth, showcased the following:

  • Adopt-a-spot project and its signage, in partnership with Bendigo Bank. There have been 51 pickups, 457 participants, 535 bags of rubbish, weighing 2,210.86kg, which included 5,256 cigarette butts.
  • Recycling facilities at the Waste Transfer Station: furniture, building materials, glass, steel, aluminium, engine oil, e-waste, hazardous goods, accepted free-of-charge.
  • Toodyay Naturalists’ Club: Award winning environmental group; focus: education, observation, nature reserves, feral species management, and Toodyay Friends of the River Award winning working group; focus: surveying, weed control, revegetation, and feral species management.

Peter McLean, National Chief Executive Officer of Keep Australia Beautiful said “it’s pleasing to see another year of high calibre National finalists from every corner of our amazing country.”

“Each finalist exhibited significant outcomes in a range of sustainability projects and activities and this National program allows each of them to learn even more so they can continue to thrive as a community and achieve success on their sustainability journeys.”

The two day awards event included highlights from National judge Jill Grant’s judging tour, finalist case studies, as well as opportunities which allowed representatives the chance to share information and network with like-minded professionals from around Australia.

Many delegates from all over the country took a tour Sheffield, which showcased some of the town’s excellent projects which contributed to their win last year.

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant and the Department for the Environment, the Australian Tidy Towns Program recognise the hard work undertaken by rural and regional community groups, schools, businesses, individuals and councils; showcasing innovative ideas and initiatives that improve sustainability in our regional areas.

“The Keep Australia Beautiful Tidy Towns program provides an important platform for communities and councils to share their achievements in litter prevention and environmental sustainability” said Stan Moore, CEO of the Australian Packaging Covenant (APC).

“The APC is pleased to be a key supporter of the nation-wide KAB Tidy Towns Program as it gives us an opportunity to engage with local projects and governments. We congratulate all towns that made it to the final awards.”

2015 marks 47 years of the Tidy Towns Awards in Australia (starting in WA) but celebrates its 25th year Nationally. Keep Australia Beautiful received 1335 category submissions nationally, from over 347 applicants, across councils, shires, community groups, schools and individuals.

Tidy Towns awards can only be achieved where there is a good level of community participation and social capital. The grass roots programs offered by Keep Australia Beautiful provides opportunities for councils and their communities to showcase their achievements towards sustainability.

Keep Australia Beautiful Australian Tidy Towns Awards winners 2015

Award Winner
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention (sponsored by APC) Toodyay, WA
Resource Recovery & Waste Management (sponsored by APC) Toodyay, WA
Environmental Protection and Innovation Toodyay, WA
Energy Innovation Beechworth, VIC
Heritage and Culture Titjikala, NT
Young Legends Cooktown, QLD
Community Action and Partnerships Meningie, SA
Water Conservation Meningie, SA
Overall Toodyay, WA

Highly Commended Awards

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Beechworth, VIC
Environmental Innovation and Protection Beechworth, VIC
Energy Innovation Cooktown, QLD
Heritage and Culture Gloucester, NSW
Environmental Innovation and Protection Westbury, TAS


Media Comment Peter McLean, CEO Keep Australia Beautiful National | Phone 0416 227 158 | Email peter@kab.org.au

Media Contact: Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful National | Phone 0416 768 387 | Email alice@kab.org.au

Judge Contact: Jill Grant | nationaljudge@kab.org.au |0411 652 895

Comments are closed.