Walpole are litter free and everyone knows it

Tidy Towns Logo

Friday 4 April 2014
Media Contact Peter McLean
Phone 0416 227 158
Email peter@kab.org.au

Walpole Litter

David Tapley (Walpole Tidy Towns Committee), Chris Jefferies (GM PSF), Ray Willcox (Walpole Tidy Towns), Adele Brown (President Walpole Tidy Towns Committee), Todd Brown (Young Scholarship Recipient and Youth Litter Ambassador Walpole Tidy Towns Committee), Jennfier Willcox (Walpole Tidy Towns Committee), Haylee Hawkins (Walpole Tidy Towns Committee)













The West Australian town of Walpole has gone home with two awards, deservedly won at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Awards 2014 held in Victor Harbor, South Australia this evening. The overall 2014 Tidy Towns title went to Sheffield, Tasmania.

The Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention award was picked up by community members, including Mrs Adele Brown, President of the Walpole Tidy Towns Committee; and Councillor Dave Tapley, on behalf of the town.

Peter McLean, National Chief Executive Officer of Keep Australia Beautiful said “one of the things I really loved was that Walpole was the first region in the nation to declare itself as litter free. I believe this positive action is an aspirational goal to change littering culture.”

Walpole also won the Environmental Innovation and Protection award.

National Tidy Towns judge Dick Olesinski said “The Walpole Wilderness Area embraces seven National Parks and totals 360,000 ha of which 20,000 ha meet the ‘wilderness’ criteria. Once gazetted, it will be the first classified wilderness area in Western Australia.”

The Australian Tidy Towns Program recognises the hard work undertaken by rural and regional community groups, schools, businesses, individuals and councils, and showcases innovative ideas and initiatives that improve sustainability in our regional areas.

The two day awards event included highlights from National judge Dick Olesinski’s 20th year in judging the Australian Tidy Towns, as well as opportunities which allowed representatives the chance to share information and network with like-minded professionals from around Australia.

The tour of Victor Harbor showcased some of the coastal town’s excellent projects which contributed to their win last year.

Many delegates who travelled from all over the country saw the penguin tour and took a ride on the horse drawn tram, as well as a ride on the SteamRanger Vintage Railway.

Chris Jeffreys, General Manager from the Packaging Stewardship Forum who sponsor the Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention category “congratulate Walpole and their community who worked collaboratively to achieve this award.”

“Tidy Towns awards can only be achieved where there is a good level of community participation and social capital. The grass roots programs offered by Keep Australia Beautiful provides opportunities for councils and their communities to showcase their achievements towards sustainability,” she said.

The Packaging Stewardship Forum programs focus on resource recovery, away from home recycling and litter prevention, which are complimented by Keep Australia Beautiful Tidy Towns Program. All councils and their communities who make the effort to participate in the awards program across Australia should be encouraged and congratulated.

2014 marks 45 years of the Tidy Towns Awards in Australia, with Keep Australia Beautiful receiving 1300 initiatives nationally, from over 360 entrants across councils, shires, community groups, schools and individuals.


Keep Australia Beautiful Australian Tidy Towns Awards winners 2014

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Nundle, NSW
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention (sponsored by PSF) Walpole, WA
Resource Recovery and Waste Management (sponsored by PSF) Sheffield, TAS
Environmental Innovation and Protection Walpole, WA
Water Conservation Kingston SE, SA
Energy Innovation Wangaratta, VIC
Heritage and Culture Titjikala, NT
Young Legends Mundubbera, QLD
Overall Sheffield, TAS

Highly Commended Awards

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Commendation Mundubbera, QLD
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Commendation (sponsored by PSF) Kingston SE, SA
Resource Recovery and Waste Management Commendation (sponsored by PSF) Wangaratta, VIC
Environmental Innovation and Protection Commendation Sheffield, TAS
Water Conservation Commendation (tie) Wangaratta, VIC Titjikala, NT
Energy Innovation Commendation Sheffield, TAS
Heritage and Culture Commendation Nundle, NSW
Young Legends Commendation Kingston SE, SA


Comments are closed.