Wycheproof Cleans Up at the Australian Tidy Towns Awards 2013

Tidy Towns Logo

Friday 17 May 2013 4.30pm AEST
Media Contact Peter McLean
Phone 0416 227 158
Email peter@kab.org.au


Keep Australia Beautiful, Tidy Towns awards at Caloundra, Sunshi

Reid Mather Mayor Buloke Shire Council, Ann Durie Wycheproof VISION, Whitney Boyle Wycheproof VISION, Deb Crockett Wycheproof VISION and Carol Lymbery KABNA Treasurer.

The Victorian town of Wycheproof has won the Water Conservation Award at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Awards 2013. The town was also highly commended for theDame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention award. The winners were announced at the national awards ceremony hosted by the 2012 national winner, Caloundra, on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland on Friday 17 May. The overall 2013 Tidy Towns title went to Victor Harbor, South Australia.

The Australian Tidy Towns Program recognises the hard work undertaken by rural and regional community groups, schools, businesses, individuals and councils, and showcases innovative ideas and initiatives that improve sustainability in our regional areas.

With 13 years of drought under their belt the Wycheproof community is informed and active in water conservation both in their homes and with their clubs and groups. 98% of respondents to a recent survey have a rainwater tank for drinking purposes and 86% have no/low water plants or a water tank for gardens.

“Wycheproof is a town of action and embraces any opportunity to enhance the residential and visitor experience. Boasting the equal highest level of adult volunteering in the state, Wycheproof seeks opportunities to improve town facilities and promote the town’s wonderful lifestyle,” National Tidy Towns judge Dick Olesinski said.

Peter McLean, National Chief Executive Officer for Keep Australia Beautiful said, “Working together to achieve more has always been a philosophy followed by Wycheproof community groups.  The Wycheproof community has a demonstrated commitment to the Tidy Town program. The high level of participation and interest in town sustainability is also demonstrated through the development of the 2008 Community Plan and 2011 update.”

The awards event included a tour of Caloundra showcasing some of the coastal town’s excellent projects which contributed to their win last year. A speed networking section after lunch allowed representatives the chance to share information and network with like minded professionals from around Australia.

2013 marks 45 years of the Tidy Towns awards in Australia, with Keep Australia Beautiful receiving 1180 initiatives nationally, from over 300 entrants across councils, shires, community groups, schools and individuals.

The Australian Tidy Towns Awards are sponsored by the Do the Right Thing Program of the Australian Food and Grocery Council’s Packaging Stewardship Forum.



Keep Australia Beautiful Australian Tidy Towns Awards winners 2013

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Armidale NSW
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Latrobe TAS
Resource Recovery and Waste Management Armidale NSW
Environmental Innovation and Protection Hedland WA
Water Conservation Wycheproof VIC
Energy Innovation Victor Harbor SA
Heritage and Culture (tie) Wugularr NT
Heritage and Culture (tie) Longreach QLD
Young Legends Victor Harbor SA
Overall Victor Harbor SA

Highly Commended Awards

Award Winner
Community Action and Partnerships Commendation Hedland WA
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Commendation Wycheproof VIC
Resource Recovery and Waste Management Commendation Victor Harbor SA
Environmental Innovation and Protection Commendation Latrobe TAS
Water Conservation Commendation Armidale NSW
Energy Innovation Commendation Wugularr NT
Young Legends Commendation Longreach QLD

Comments are closed.